//
you're reading...
Community Archaeology

St Lythans: looking from different angles at the same stones

As part of the Tinkinswood Community Archaeology Project, we were lucky enough to work with Adam Stanford and Henry Rothwell from Digital Digging. They managed to stitch together a series of images from St Lythans burial chamber to create a photogrammetry animation of the site. Here it is:

It is interesting to see St Lythans using an alternative digital lens.

A strange thing happened when the excavations finished at St Lythans and I returned to the office…. On my desk an interesting looking letter lay on my keyboard, which included a series of images. A picture was enclosed and the following words:

“I see the stones at St Lythans as a piece of sculpture. A passionate kiss. The hole through the rock separates the necks of two heads. Once you see it you will always see it. I must remain anonymous.”

The St Lythans Kiss

I thought it quite odd that whoever wrote to me didn’t want me to know who they were… the letter was addressed to me, and it seemed as though they knew we were excavating there, as it was sent during the project, waiting for me when I returned to work. It made me think about the stones in a different way, and now whenever I visit, I have a little look at the stone at the back of the chamber, and think of that letter.

If you get a chance, have a look for yourselves – and it’s true, every time I go there now – I really do see the stone as two people kissing!

Another angle on the stones has been captured by a good friend of mine – Helen Hywel, who died suddenly in November – she was a talented artist and drew St Lythans for the project in this special pencil drawing:

St Lythans as a Pencil Drawing

St Lythans as a Pencil Drawing

People continue to experience St Lythans in different ways, and I have recently written some new audio posts for both St Lythans and Tinkinswood. The new u-turn audio posts have been updated to include new information about the recent excavations at St Lythans, and an extra story on both black boxes will be added to include new stories aimed at children. Watch out for these in the new year!

U Turn Audio Post

U Turn Audio Post

It’s interesting to think that just within a year, St Lythans continues to be re-interpreted and viewed from new and different angles all the time. I wonder what 2014 will bring!

About FfionR

I’m Ffion, archaeological researcher at Cardiff University and Heritage and Arts Manager for Cadw, the historic environment service for the Welsh Government. At Cadw, my role is to oversee projects that link heritage with the arts, inspire new ways of engaging people with our built environment and to link people with their local heritage and archaeology.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “St Lythans: looking from different angles at the same stones

  1. You’ve just made my Christmas. Thanks for the post. Awesome love Gav x

    Posted by gavin king | December 24, 2013, 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Cadw

Manchester Metropolitan University

Heritage Together

Cyngor Archaeoleg Prydain / Council of British Archaeology

Cadw Archaeology

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Dilynwch fi ar Trydar | Follow me on Twitter

