//
you're reading...
Community Archaeology

My experiences so far at Tinkinswood

Welcome to our first guest blog, a very special occassion! This post is written by one of our wonderful BTCV volunteers, Rebekah Nash… she is working on clearing the monument…

Hello! My name is Rebekah, and I am a Geography student on voluntary work experience from the University of Glamorgan. I desperately wanted to get involved with a project that built on the environmental aspects of my course and wanted to put something back into the community. By working with the British Trust of Conservation Volunteers, I got the chance to visit Tinkinswood Burial Chamber in St Nicholas.

I couldn’t believe that I had never come across, or had ever been told about this place before. I was excited to learn that we would be doing work on this beautiful chamber to bring it back to its original state. Dr. Ffion Reynolds, from Cadw, came up to discuss the chamber and the work that was needed to do. I was so engrossed by what she had to say about the history found here.

We have been clearing the vegetation from the huge limestone capstone and surrounding features, showing its fresh face. The trees are being cut down so that the chamber can been seen from all angles like it would have been nearly 6000 years ago. The trees are being used as logs and the branches are piled and are being used for habitat management for wildlife.

Working on clearing a vista so people can see what the monument looked like in its original setting 6000 years ago

By cutting down the nettles and trees, BTCV have unveiled another possible entry to the chamber (well, I hope it is!) on the right and an outer wall on the left of the monument.

Could this be another entrance to the chamber?

I felt so privileged to be working with a part of history.

One of Wales’ hidden treasures!

Rebekah

About Community Volunteers

We are the community volunteers working at Cadw's Tinkinswood and St Lythan's Archaeology Project

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My experiences so far at Tinkinswood

  1. Very nice; there is an extremely interesting book about Tinkinswood “The TombBuilders” published by the National Museum… I havebeen there several times (albeit NOT on MidSummer let it be said) and am amazed how many people do not know about this place!

    Posted by Mario | September 16, 2011, 4:15 pm
  2. That’s looking really good, I am jealous already. With luck I will be down there soon also as a volunteer. Keep up the good work!

    Posted by monasticdave | September 16, 2011, 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Cadw

Manchester Metropolitan University

Heritage Together

Cyngor Archaeoleg Prydain / Council of British Archaeology

Cadw Archaeology

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Dilynwch fi ar Trydar | Follow me on Twitter

